The Folk Roots List Folk, roots, acoustic and americana news and gigs
towersey festival

Bill Bailey announced to headline Towersey Festival 2020

Multi-award-winning British comedian, songwriter, musician, actor and presenter Bill Bailey, is confirmed to headline the 56th Towersey Festival, from 28-31 August 2020, in Buckinghamshire’s stunning Claydon Estate, in Middle Claydon.

Bill BaileyBill’s extensive career ranges from international stand-up comedy tours to performing on television, film and radio, duetting at HRH Prince Charles' 60th birthday with Robin Williams, and performing at the Royal Albert Hall with a full BBC Concert Orchestra. He played Manny in the BAFTA award-winning Black Books, and he was for many years team captain on the popular BBC music panel show Never Mind the Buzzcocks. He is a regular panellist on the hit BBC panel show QI, along with writing and presenting numerous TV wildlife documentaries and has recently filmed the comedy-drama ‘In The Long Run’ created by Idris Elba. Bill Bailey will headline Towersey on Saturday 29 August.

Gruff RhysAlso confirmed for Sunday 30 August at Towersey is Gruff Rhys, the prolific and inventive Welsh musician, well known as the singer and main songwriter for Super Furry Animals. Gruff’s music encompasses a range of styles, including psychedelia, folk and electro-pop. His third album, Hotel Shampoo, won the Artrocker Album of the Year award and the Welsh Music Prize in 2011. In 2014, Gruff released American Interior, an album, book, film and app, exploring the life of John Evans, who left Wales for North America in 1792 in search of a lost tribe of Welsh-speaking Native Americans. Then in 2016, despite a busy schedule touring again with the Super Furries, he found time to compose the soundtrack album for Andy Goddard's film Set Fire To The Stars. His most recent release, 2018's Babelsberg, was recorded with the 72-piece BBC National Orchestra of Wales.

Joining these music greats at Towersey are Ferris & Sylvester, who are on an unstoppable upward trajectory and winning hearts across the world with their distinctive blend of blues, folk and Americana, and BBC Young Folk Award Winner 2019 Maddie Morris, who recently completed an EU joint headline tour with activist CHUCK SJ.

Other confirmed artists joining the line-up include English roots band Edward II; award-winning musical geniuses Tim Edey & Ross Ainslie; unhinged and musically extravagant The Langan Band; 11-strong women's shanty crew She Shanties; energised folk-rock band Merry Hell; London-based big band Yiddish Twist Orchestra and acappella singing and traditional dance group Black Umfolosi, from Bulawayo, Zimbabwe. These artists are joining the previously announced big line-up (see full listing below).

Towersey is the UK’s longest-running independent music festival in the UK, with eight venues featuring an extensive music programme, over 30 hours of ceilidh and dance and a packed schedule of daily workshops. 2020 will feature many of the regular favourites plus the introduction of new circus shows and workshops, well-being and mindfulness activities and outdoor experiences.

Tickets for Towersey Festival, which runs from Friday 28 to Monday 31 August 2020 at Claydon Estate, Middle Claydon, Buckinghamshire (claydonestate.co.uk), are now available from £144 (adult), £134 (concessions), £70 (young person 5-17). Day tickets are also available. For more information go to www.towerseyfestival.com FULL LINE-UP (ANNOUNCED TO DATE):

FULL LINE-UP (ANNOUNCED TO DATE):

Friday 28 August:
Steeleye Span (steeleyespan.org.uk)
Show of Hands (showofhands.co.uk)
Ferris & Sylvester (ferrisandsylvester.com)
Laura Cortese & The Dance Cards (thisislauracortese.com)
Yiddish Twist Orchestra (yiddishtwistorchestra.com)
Whapweasel (whapweasel.com)
Merry Hell (merryhell.co.uk)
Honey and The Bear (honeyandthebear.co.uk)
Forest of Fools (forestoffools.com)
Black Umfolosi (blackumfolosimusic.com) – also playing Saturday 29 August

Saturday 29 August:
Bill Bailey (billbailey.co.uk)
This Is The Kit (thisisthekit.co.uk)
The Trials of Cato (thetrialsofcato.com)
Talisk (talisk.co.uk)
The Langan Band (thelanganband) 
Jackie Oates & John Spiers (jackieoates.co.uk) (squeezyjohn.com)
Midnight Skyracer (midnightskyracer.com)
She Shanties (sheshanties.com) – also playing Sunday 30 and Monday 31 August
Maddie Morris (maddiemorris.co.uk) – also playing Sunday 30 August
Smith and Brewer (smithandbrewer.com)

Sunday 30 August:
Gruff Rhys (gruffrhys.com)
Kate Rusby (katerusby.com)
Hackney Colliery Band (hackneycollieryband.co.uk)
The London Welsh Male Voice Choir (londonwelshmvc.org)
Tim Edey (timedey.co.uk) & Ross Ainslie (rossainslie.com) – also playing Monday 31 August
Ranagri (ranagri.com)
Jez Hellard & The Djukella Orchestra (jezhellard.com)

Monday 31 August:
Grace Petrie (gracepetrie.com)
Edward II (edwardthesecond.co.uk)
The Magpie Arc (TheMagpieArc)
Matthew Byrne (matthewbyrne.net)
Circocentric – EXCLUSIVE TO TOWERSEY! A newly created Circus show by The Chipolatas and The Pirates of the Carabina! (piratesofthecarabina.com) (chipolatas.com)