Eliza Carthy’s new album ‘Restitute’

Eliza Carthy

Until now, previously only available from Eliza Carthy’s own website, ‘Restitute,’ her first “solo” album of traditional music in 14 years gets an official release on Topic Records, as it celebrates its 80th anniversary as the oldest independent record label in the world.

Describing herself simply as a “modern English musician,” multi-award winning singer-songwriter Eliza  Carthy,  is  one  of  the most recognisable faces of contemporary folk music. Launching head-on into the scene in the late 80’s, she quickly became one of its great innovators and ambassadors.    In  2014,  she  was awarded an MBE for services to folk music in the Queen’s Birthday Honours.

Following on from last year’s highly acclaimed album ‘Anchor‘, (which was with her mother, Norma alongside the Gift Band), comes her first “solo” album of traditional music in 14 years. ‘Restitute.’

Eliza Carthy – ‘Restitite’

The new album (ostensibly a fund-raising exercise for her Wayward Band) is literally, a domestic affair – recorded as it was at Eliza’s home in the picturesque Robin Hood’s Bay, North Yorkshire by Eliza and Ben Seal (Urban Farm Hand).   ‘Restitute’ features special guest contributions from Martin Carthy, Jon Boden (ex-Bellowhead), Dave DeLarre, Ben Somers & Ben Seal himself.

Eliza is a from a formidable English musical dynasty – her mother, Norma, uncle Mike and aunt Lal (along with their cousin, John Harrison) made up The Watersons, whose closely woven vocal harmonies became one of the defining sounds of the 1960s folk revival. Her father, Martin Carthy, is a hugely significant singer and guitarist, who influenced the likes of Bob Dylan and Paul Simon. Along with her mother and father, since 1994, Eliza has also been an essential element of Waterson:Carthy, performing and recording mainly traditional British songs and tunes.

Track listing:

  1. Friendship
  2. The Leaves In The Woodland
  3. Helter Skelter
  4. The Man Who Puffs The Big Cigar
  5. Gentleman Rankers
  6. The Slave’s Lament/Farewell To A Dark Haired Friend
  7. Dream Of Napoleon
  8. Lady All Skin And Bone
  9. The Old Sexton
  10. The Last Rose Of Summer

Produced by Eliza Carthy and Ben Seal (Urban Farm Hand).
Recorded by Ben Seal in Eliza Carthy’s Bedroom, Robin Hood’s Bay.
Mixed at The Piggery, Fife.

Label: Topic Records
Cat. No: TSCD599
Format: CD | Digital
Barcode: 714822045995