Roo Panes | US & Europe tour dates & new single ‘Ophelia’

Roo Panes

British singer-songwriter Roo Panes releases ‘Ophelia’ (Single Version) from his latest album ‘Quiet Man’ which was released through CRC Records in June 2018.

Originally produced by Chris Bond, this new version sees Roo collaborating with Mt. Wolf frontman, Bassi Fox, who provides additional production and mixing on the track.

“This version of Ophelia is slightly different to the album track” Roo explains. “I felt like I wanted it to be more fully realized, and had been wanting to add a few things for a richer sound. It was great to go into the studio with Bassi Fox again.”

Roo Panes – Ophelia

“This song started off as a hum a number of years ago, and harks back to some of the more Celtic folk melodies I used to love. Ophelia was a famous heroine in Shakespeare’s play hamlet – a figure of tragedy and confusion – and it felt like the perfect motif and way in to telling the story I was singing about personally. It’s all about reminding someone that life’s a gift and they’ve got something to give, and about wanting to see them flourish.”

The beautiful textures of Roo’s vocal underpins the timeless melodies of the song that drift through dreamlike harmonies, building into the soaring chorus finale, layered with strings, Hammond organ, mandolin and a magnificent gospel choir.

‘Quiet Man’, from which ‘Ophelia’ is taken, is Roo’s third album following Little Giant (2014) and Paperweights (2016). To date his music has been streamed over 180 million times on Spotify alone, received over 20 million views across Youtube & Vevo with radio champions in the likes of Lauren Laverne (BBC 6 Music), Annie Mac and Phil Taggart (BBC Radio 1), Zane Lowe (Beats 1), Jo Whiley (BBC Radio 2) and Dermot O’Leary (BBC Radio 2). In addition, Roo Panes and his band, alongside Mahogany Sessions, have created a beautiful live version of the track, filmed in a beautiful private venue in London. The video will be part of a first for Mahogany, a 4 track live EP/documentary called ‘Based On A True Story’. Curated by Mahogany, the series is aimed to capture a unique recording and explore the ideas and stories behind Roo’s songs.

Roo has also just announced his first tour dates for 2019. The 7 dates taking place in March and April are:
22nd March – Paradiso Noord, Amsterdam (NL)
26th March – Backstage, Paris (FR)
27th March – Luxor, Cologne (DE)
28th March – Molotow, Hamburg (DE)
29th March – Cecil House, Copenhagen (DK)
1st April – Strom, Munich (DE)
2nd April – Orpheum Extra, Graz (AT)

Already announced tour dates:
19 Oct – Le Poisson Rouge, New York
20 Oct – City Winery, Boston (sold out)
21 Oct – Le Ministère, Montreal
23 Oct – Baby G, Toronto
24 Oct – Lincoln Hall, Chicago
26 Oct – The Biltmore Cabaret, Vancouver
28 Oct – Columbia City Theater, Seattle
29 Oct – The Old Church, Portland
30 Oct – Lost Lake Lounge, Denver
3 Nov – Swedish American Hall, San Francisco
5 Nov – The Moroccan Lounge, Los Angeles
14 Nov – Pop Up Du Label, Paris (sold out)
16 Nov – Paradiso Noord (Tuinzaal), Amsterdam (sold out)
17 Nov – Bar Brooklyn, Stockholm
20 Nov – Silent Green, Berlin (sold out)
21 Nov – Meet Factory, Prague
23 Nov – Blue Bird Festival, Vienna
24 Nov – Exil, Zurich